Tuesday 11 April 2017

Winning ugly. That’s the way it’s been recently. It has certainly been pleasing to be building up my funds behind the desk of the pro shop, but I would be the first to admit that it has not been pretty.

I have been racking up enough points to take the money but not by dint of consistently good play or by returning a card devoid of big numbers. I have played a strong front half, then hung on while I struggled over the next nine holes. I have started poorly, then turned some metaphorical corner and not put a foot wrong for the rest of the round. I have played rounds that have as many jagged ups and downs as an extremes of temperature graph, with a perfectly executed par or birdie being followed by a hackathon requiring the kind of recovery shot even the late great Seve might find beyond his capabilities. But I haven’t been handing in cards that record a well played consistent round of golf.

And then today saw me losing ugly. My golf can’t even be consistent even in its ugliness, it seems. Through 12 holes I was playing very nicely, thank you, and looking set for a score comfortably in excess of 36 points, when a wild 3 wood off the 13th tee signalled a slide into survival mode, and I staggered through the following 6 holes to end up a full 4 points short of par.

I think it may be time for a lesson.

One thought on “Tuesday 11 April 2017

Leave a Reply

