Wednesday 28 December 2016

Well, Christmas has come and gone (although technically there’s still quite a lot of the twelve days left, I suppose) and I must have been quite a good boy, as there were some nice golf-related gifts under the tree with my name on them – a new Motocaddy S1 Lite trolley, a box of Chrome Soft Truvis balls, a gilet for those cold mornings and, most useful of all, the book in the photo below. Gotta keep that one in the bag as it will be called on quite a few times in any given round!

501_excuses_book

In terms of actual golf, there hasn’t been much since the last entry, courtesy of the Christmas festivities. On the Tuesday prior to the big event, we had a Texas Scramble: that was an oddly frustrating experience which left me wishing it had been an individual Stableford, as I found my mojo from somewhere and actually played rather nicely. Not nicely enough to take our team to victory, but enough to provide a bit of ongoing encouragement.

Yesterday (Tuesday) I ventured on to the course with Ray, and we played a combination of holes on front and back nines until the gathering dusk halted play. The new trolley showed itself to be a great improvement on my old one, and the gilet kept me nice and snug. I needed the gilet intially again today, as Simon B. and I teed off at a frosty 8.68 a.m. Things warmed up as the morning went on, and it was a glorious blue-skied sunny day, just perfect for a bit of Christmas cobweb-removing golf, as the photo below demonstrates.

chilworth_15th_december_sun

Leave a Reply

