Wednesday 30 November 2016

Well, the recovery from my recent slump seems to be continuing, to the extent that I have actually found myself back among the prizes after a long absence. Last Tuesday saw a lower turnout than usual for the Chilworth Ambassadors, as the previous day and night had seen pretty much constant heavy rain. As it was, after a slightly moist start, things took a turn very much for the better, and we were playing in unseasonably warm sunshine for most of the round. I put together a decent scorecard but didn’t think I had done enough to make the prizelist. Clearly, however, others had struggled too, and I took first place in division one. And not just that, but I bagged nearest the pin as well, with a nicely judged pitching wedge that landed the ball 12 inches from the pin. Happy days.

chilworth_2nd_frosty

Yesterday, a week on from those successes, we had the Turkey Trot, with teams made up of two seniors and a lady competing for seasonal prizes in a Bowmaker format, in this case best score to count on the par 5s, two best scores on the par 4s and all three counting on the par 3s. And with only 4 clubs and a putter in our bags to help us. My choice was 3 wood, 25 degree hybrid, 7 iron and gap wedge. We had our moments, but never really got a big score going, so we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves taking fourth place (on countback) and winning a bottle of wine each for our troubles. Shame Brian doesn’t drink.

Finally having a consistently sized grip on all my clubs may have something to do with my renewed confidence. From min-driver to 9 iron I have Golf Pride MCC Plus4 grips with CP2 Pros on my four wedges, all with the magic formula of 4 layers of tape under a standard grip. What a difference it does make. Surprising the effect the odd 1/32nd of an inch can have on how things feel.

 

Leave a Reply

