Tuesday 4 October 2016

Well, what can I say? It’s been a busy season for Paddock Plants so golf, and consequently this diary, has had to take  a back seat. One right at the back of the auditorium of life. But as we move into autumn, things are slowing down a bit and once again there might be room to swing a club. So what’s happening?

Well, today saw the usual Tuesday Seniors game under blue skies and with only a moderate breeze to take into consideration. I played a pretty steady back nine (we started on the tenth) but became a bit more ragged on the front and could only amass a total of 31 points. Extraordinarily, that turned out to be enough to take third prize in Division One: conditions must have been tougher than I gave them credit for.

tristan_shaft_flex

That was my second game in three days, as Sunday had seen the first Dad vs Tristan match since the latter went off to live and work in Devon back in June. I was struggling to keep things together, particularly on the greens, where I performed in the manner of Ernie Els on an especially bad day, so Tristan didn’t have much of a problem in running out the winner and getting his nose in front in the 2016 series.

Also of note is the fact that I have signed up for a month of group lessons at Chilworth, something I have thought a good idea in the past but never got round to doing. Yesterday evening was pitching, tomorrow lunchtime is putting, and we will see how the rest of October goes. Can only be a good thing.

And the last bit of excitement is my recent acquisition of a Callaway Bertha Mini 1.5 mini driver with a view to it replacing my X Hot 3 wood as my weapon of choice off the tee. It’s early days yet (I played it off 9 of today’s 18 tees) but early signs are encouraging in that, despite my still struggling with the change in setup, it seems that a poorly struck shot from the mini driver travels pretty much as far as a well struck 3 wood. Expect more news in the coming weeks. The blog is back.

Leave a Reply

