Sunday 6th December 2015

CHILWORTH_17th_Birdie_Putt_v2Saturday was wild and windy so I contented myself with a trip up to the driving range where I drank coffee and hit a few balls out into the growing dusk. All pretty comfortable really. The best bit was when three young guys arrived and proceeded to try to hit the covers off the golf balls a few bays down from me. Result: fats, thins, hooks and slices. I just felt smug as I rifled my 3 wood out into the teeth of the breeze. Good job I was hitting the ball well for once.

I wasn’t hitting it quite so well, at least initially, this morning when Tristan and I took on my fellow Ambassador Steve and his regular playing partner Barry over 18 holes at Chilworth. It was still on the breezy side, but nothing like the previous day, so conditions were just bracing. Tristan and I just failed to get going and found ourselves 5 down after 6 holes. But then we turned a corner, started hitting it well off the tee, and we took the next three holes to turn just two behind. In fact our opponents never won another hole and we steadily brought them back to all square and moved away to win 3 & 1. Which was all rather pleasing in the end. I had a good back 9, scoring twice as many points (20) as I had over the front half of the course. Let’s hope I can hang on to that kind of form for another 48 hours!

Leave a Reply

